The Robert H. Routledge Award

About the Award

A key figure at the inauguration of the Alberta Schools’ Athletic Association in 1956, Bob had been a constant guiding force its policies and activities. He believed in the beneficial effects to adults and youth alike of properly directed sports and athletics. He sought to involve as many boys and girls as possible in sports programs: to stress courtesy and sportsmanship above winning; to consider first the health, fitness, intellectual and emotional growth of the participants.

Bob’s personal accomplishments as a physical educator are well known. From rural school teacher with a liking for sports and gymnastics, he progressed to Provincial Recreation Supervisor, to high school physical educator, to Assistant Supervisor of Physical Education with the Edmonton Public School Board and finally to Professor of Physical Education, University of Alberta, with his doctorate pending at the time of his passing (April 25, 1970).

His integrity and sincerity were evident, and his enthusiasm for his work infectious. No wonder that his peers listened to his opinions with great respect and sought his advice. With his deep belief in the importance of his job, Bob combined a feeling for words, a unique ability to turn a phrase neatly, with a quick intellect that relished statistical accuracy. These qualities made him invaluable as a policy maker and parliamentarian not only of ASAA but of the numerous associations both local and national to which, as a person with a deep sense of professional responsibility, he belonged.

“God’s finger touched him, and he slept.” - Tennyson


The Robert H. Routledge award is presented annually in the recognition of outstanding service to the students of Alberta schools in the promotion and operation of an athletic program.


1978 – Jim Whitelaw

1982 – Mal Clewes

1988 - George Hanna

1991 – Leroy Walker

1992 – Debbie Yanota

1995 – Marg Derbyshire

2002 – Glen Magneson

2016 – Duane Konynenbelt

2022 - Darryl Smith

Marg Derbyshire Award of Merit

About the Award

Annually the ASAA presents an award in recognition of outstanding service to the students of Alberta Schools in the promotion and operation of an athletic program.  This award recognizes the contributions made by teacher coaches and administrators towards the lives of high school students through school athletics.


In 2002, the first Zone Awards of Merit were presented to six recipients from five zones for outstanding contributions to their zone. Zone secretaries, in consultation with members of the zones, nominate deserving individuals for this award. A presentation is made to each recipient during the evening banquet held in conjunction with the Annual Planning Meeting in December each year.

In 2023, the South Zone Award of Merit was deservedly renamed to the Marg Derbyshire Award of Merit to honour the 40 years of volunteer work Marg has done with the South Zone and ASAA.


Application Deadline: June 30th, Annually

Please submit the following criteria:


Applications will be adjudicated by the Zone Committees.


2003   Marg Derbyshire, McCoy High School
Terry Hanna, Kate Andrews High School

2004  Deb Yanota, Crescent Heights High School, LCI

2005  Ingeborg Pot, Stirling School
Duane Konynenbelt, Immanuel Christian High School

2006   Craig Patton, FP Walshe High School

2007   John Seaman, County Central High School

2008   Ken Gabruck, St Mary’s School

2009   Darryl Christiansen, Magrath School
Dallen Leavitt, Cardston High School

2010 Ritch Braun, Crowsnest Consolidated High School        

2011  Ross Blackmer, Magrath High School

2012  Karl Hiebert, Lomond School

2013   Mike Myndio, Chinook High School

2014   Pat Pyne, St Mary’s School, Taber
Toby Boulet, Winston Churchill High School

2015  Janice Laing, Monsignor McCoy High School

2016  Scott Howes, Medicine Hat High School

2017  Dave Wells, SAIAC

2018  Darryl Smith, Eagle Butte

2019  Matthew Bekkering, Immanuel Christian

2020  Jon Vande Griend, Picture Butte

​2021   Randy Whitehead, Matthew Halton

Marg Derbyshire Award of Merit Winners

2022 - Angie Seaman

2023 Jonathan Dick